Monday Mentions: September TBR List

2 Comments on Monday Mentions: September TBR List

After last month’s TBR list, I found that it really helped me stay on track with getting things done. So, I’m back again with another TBR list month to tackle.

I also want to take the opportunity to shout-out to the other bloggers that inspired my TBR list! That is what this post is all about! Thanks for writing a great review that made me want to read the books on my TBR list!

If you want to join in thanking fellow bloggers/authors: link back to my page and post your link in the comments!

This month I want to tackle these books:

undesirable liz ivaroschi-braunUndesirable – Liz Iavorschi-Braun

Synopsis: Five generations after world leaders engineer a virus to decimate the population and keep it under control, life continues as normal for those living in The Society. They are divided into classes and go about their lives because it is all they know. The genetically fortunate become rulers, while those labeled undesirable are never seen again.

Torn between her obligation to The Society in which she was raised and a desire to choose her own fate, Ginger takes a chance and risks it all to cross a vast wilderness alone for a chance to be free.

Why I want to read: I mentioned in my WWW Wednesday post that I am currently reading this book. Here’s why. For one the cover is super cool. I’m really into dystopian reads, and this is right up there. This book also reminds me of The Divergent series mixed with The Maze Runner series. I can’t wait to start reading it!

(Image from Goodreads)

Undefinable - liz ivaroschi-braunUndefinable – Liz Iavorschi-Braun

Synopsis: The Choices we make define us, but they have consequences. Ginger must come to grips with the ramifications of her actions, even as she comes into her own.

While war looms on the horizon, Ginger learns that freedom, family, and love are worth fighting for, regardless of the costs.

Author Liz Iavorschi-Braun’s much-anticipated second book of the Seven Years Gone series is a gripping story you won’t want to put down.

Why I want to read: Again, super cool cover, and everything I said for Undesirable. The third book in this series is coming out the end of this year, so what better time than all at once to read the beginning of the series?!

(Image from Goodreads)

Project Pandora - Aden PolydorosProject Pandora – Aden Polydoros

Synopsis: Tyler Bennett trusts no one. Just another foster kid bounced from home to home, he’s learned that lesson the hard way. Cue world’s tiniest violin. But when strange things start happening—waking up with bloody knuckles and no memory of the night before or the burner phone he can’t let out of his sight— Tyler starts to wonder if he can even trust himself.

Even stranger, the girl he’s falling for has a burner phone just like his. Finding out what’s really happening only leads to more questions…questions that could get them both killed. It’s not like someone’s kidnapping teens lost in the system and brainwashing them to be assassins or anything, right? And what happens to rogue assets who defy control?

In a race against the clock, they’ll have to uncover the truth behind Project Pandora and take it down—before they’re reactivated. Good thing the program spent millions training them to kick ass…

Why I want to read: I first heard about this book from Jaymie at The Neverending TBR, and I was instantly intrigued. It is yet another dystopian-type novel that seems right up my alley, and a running theme for this month.

Uncaged Wallflower - Jennae CeceliaUncaged Wallflower – Jennae Cecelia

Synopsis: Uncaged Wallflower is for those who feel trapped in the thoughts their minds produce, unable to express them with the rest of the world out of fear of critique or disagreement. For the people who need an extra dose of positivity in their day. This is not a poetry book for you to read and relate to in a sorrow filled way. It is for you to read and say yes, I can be better, and I will.

Why I want to read: I know I finished this book already, but that actually wasn’t intended. I couldn’t help myself! (Trying to get a head start on September!) I heard about this poetry collection from Jennae herself on Twitter. Being that I have been in a poetry reading phase, I instantly bought it. I loved it by the way, and can’t wait to give you a full review!

Girl in Snow - Danya KukafkaGirl in Snow – Danya Kukafka

Synopsis: Who Are You When No One Is Watching?

When a beloved high schooler named Lucinda Hayes is found murdered, no one in her sleepy Colorado suburb is untouched—not the boy who loved her too much; not the girl who wanted her perfect life; not the officer assigned to investigate her murder. In the aftermath of the tragedy, these three indelible characters—Cameron, Jade, and Russ—must each confront their darkest secrets in an effort to find solace, the truth, or both.
In crystalline prose, Danya Kukafka offers a brilliant exploration of identity and of the razor-sharp line between love and obsession, between watching and seeing, between truth and memory. Compulsively readable and powerfully moving, Girl in Snow offers an unforgettable reading experience and introduces a singular new talent in Danya Kukafka.

Why I want to read: Now, I came across a review of this book a while ago from a guest post from Regina from Bookishinbed at Rimpy Reads by Rimpy. I found that the storyline seems intriguing. I honestly think it will be a great change of pace from the other books on my list this month.

salt to the sea - ruta sepetysSalt to the Sea – Ruta Sepetys

Synopsis: World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the “Wilhelm Gustloff.” Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people adults and children alike aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr’s Pulitzer Prize-winning “All the Light We Cannot See,” Erik Larson’s “Dead Wake,” and Elizabeth Wein’s Printz Honor Book “Code Name Verity,” this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the “Wilhelm Gustloff” the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in “Between Shades of Gray,” Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Why I want to read: I have had this book on my Kindle for a long time now. I am in the mood for something different and I have a soft spot for historical fiction, especially WWII fiction. I think I am ready to take the plunge and finally read this book.

(Image from Goodreads)

scent of salt and sand - Kristin Cast and P.C. CastThe Scent of Salt and Sand – Kristin Cast and P.C Cast

Synopsis: In Amber Smoke and Scarlet Rain, acclaimed bestselling author, Kristin Cast, built a world in which the walls that separate Tartarus from the mortal realm have been breached, releasing every variety of evil into the world. In this novella, she sends her fans on a separate journey, one that will meet up with the rest of The Escaped series as it continues on its spellbinding journey.
The Sirens aren’t evil by nature. Their song lures men in, and only by trying to procreate and continue their species do they reveal their true, monstrous nature. When some Sirens escape to the mortal realm, they hide out in San Francisco, blending in as best as they can. They are on a mission: to find the ideal partner to mate with.
Melody is on the hunt, and when she meets Dean, she sees a target who will allow her to fulfill her purpose. What she doesn’t count on is falling in love — a love that could destroy them both.

Why I want to read: I adore the Escaped series written by Kristin Cast and I have had this novella for a while on my Kindle. It is a nice short read and I will get to see more into the series beyond the characters.

(Image from Goodreads)

So that is my September TBR list. With any luck, I will be able to get through them all! Watch out for these reviews later this month or in October (I’m catching up with August reviews!). Stay tuned!

Thank you to the bloggers that made me interested in these books!

(All authors twitter handles are linked through their names. Reviews of the books are linked to the blog names. Make sure to give them a follow!)
*All synopsis’ are from Goodreads and are not my own writing

What books are on your TBR list this month? Let me know in the comments!

xoxo Jenn boundtowriting

2 thoughts on “Monday Mentions: September TBR List

What do you think?